Come and experience the atmosphere of an 1860s author’s home in the original house of Finland’s national poet Johan Ludvig Runeberg (1804–1877) and his wife Fredrika (1807–1879).
The museum’s unique atmosphere comes from the Runeberg family’s furniture, artworks, tableware and old houseplants, many of which have been grown from cuttings from Fredrika’s plants.
During the summer, you can explore the carefully restored garden’s splendour.
Summer 2.5.–31.8. Mon–Sun 10 AM – 4 PM
Winter 1.9.–30.4. Wed–Sun 10 AM – 4 PM
Closed on Midsummer 24.–25.6.2022
- Adults €8
- Pensioners, unemployed, and students €6
- Under 18-year-olds €0 (under 12-year-olds are welcome to the museum in the company of an adult).
- Free entry for Museum Card holders. Read more about the Museum Card:
- Groups (10–30 persons) €6/person. We ask that groups please make a reservation in advance.
- A guided tour is mandatory for groups of schoolchildren.
- Guided tours €40–60/tour, see guided tours.
Free entrance 5.2., 18.5. and 2.9.
PLEASE NOTE! We do not accept group reservations on J. L. Runeberg Day, 5 February.
Guided tours daily 1.-31.8. at 1 PM in English. Includes the entrance ticket.
The museum shop offers many unique products for yourself, the home and for gifts. Many of our products cannot be found elsewhere! We also sell cuttings of Fredrika Runebergs plants.
The museum shop is open during the winter from Wed–Sun, 10 AM – 4 PM and every day during the summer from 10 AM – 4 PM. The shop is admission free, welcome!
The stairs leading to the main doors of Runeberg’s Home Museum are tall. The accessible entrance to the museum can be found behind the building. A slightly steep metal ramp leads up to a stair lift. The stair lift is not recommended for large electric wheelchairs. The staff will assist in operating the lift, please call 040 489 9900 if needed.
The outbuilding has a WC which can accommodate a wheelchair. There is one set of stairs leading to the space. The staff will assist in setting up ramps.
The museum has an audio induction loop. Please inform us in advance if you wish to make use of it during the guided tour.
Due to artefact safety, it is not possible to walk around the museum with a pram. Prams can be left in the courtyard or on the porch for the duration of the visit.
Trained guide dogs are permitted to enter.